Murray Independent
Board of Education

Murray ISD Board of Education Members

Pictured from Left to Right: Coy Samons, Superintendent; Robyn Pizzo, Board Member; Gina Winchester, Board Member; Adam Seiber, Board Member; Dr. Richard Crouch, Chairman; Shawn Smee, Vice-Chairman

About our Board of Education
working together for student success

The five members of the Murray Board of Education are elected by the community. Individuals do not need to be parents to serve on the Board. There is an election every two years, and terms are staggered so that Board members serve four years.

The Board of Education is responsible for decisions that affect the entire school district. It decides when and where to build new facilities; hires the superintendent; manages all school funds and property; sets rules and regulations for the district; establishes qualifications for employees; sets rules for student conduct; and deals with programs and facilities that affect students district-wide.

2023-24 Meetings of the Board are held the second Thursday of each month at 6PM at the following location:

Carter Administration Building
208 South 13th Street
Murray, KY   42071
(270) 753-4363
(270) 759-4906 (FAX)

Community members are welcome to attend. A typical meeting lasts about two hours and generally includes a financial report for the Board's approval; various informational presentations from teachers, staff, and community members; and an examination of correspondence and personnel matters. The Board may go into closed or "executive" session to discuss acquisition or sale of property, possible litigation, or matters where confidentiality is important.

District employees and any member of the public may submit items to be considered for the agenda to the Superintendent ten (10) calendar days prior to the date of the meeting by filing the appropriate form. For more information please call (270) 753-4363 or email the Superintendent's Office.

Board Member Contact Info

Richard Crouch (Chairman) -

Shawn Smee (Vice-Chairman) -

Robyn Pizzo -

Gina Winchester -

Adam Seiber -